Congratulations to our 2023 UConn Journalism Award Winners and Scholarship Recipients

Two UConn Journalism majors hold up scholarship certificates after the 2023 awards ceremony.

Our UConn Journalism students work hard and achieve much. Tanajah Fryer, left, and Amaree Love were two of our distinguished scholarship recipients at the department’s 2023 annual award ceremony.

John Breen Scholarship
Sara Bedegian

Sheehan Family Memorial Scholarship
Jalen Allen

Donald and Jewell Friedman Award
Colleen Lucey and Marissa Kaika

Dave Solomon Scholarship
Jia Stolfi and Amaree Love

Charles Litsky Memorial Scholarship
Tanajah Fryer, Skyler Kim, Hallie Letendre, Colleen Lucey and Kaily Martinez

The Barbara K. Hill Journalism Award
Madeline Papcun

T.C. Karmel Award for Sports Journalism
Julianna Bravo

Michael Whalen Award
Madeline Papcun

Phi Beta Kappa
Wyatt Cote, Julia Gintof, John Leahy, Colleen Lucey, Laura Mason, Madeline Papcun, Carson Swick and Meredith Veilleux

Prof. Mike Stanton drapes a honor cord around the neck of senior journalism major Hudson Kamphausen as Department Head Marie Shanahan looks on.

Members of the Class of 2023, such as Hudson Kamphausen, also received their black & white journalism honor cords for commencement on May 7.

The ceremony on April 27 featured UConn Journalism-branded chocolate-covered Oreos and inspirational words from Assistant Professor Amanda J. Crawford:

“You have no obligation to report something just because someone says it or believes it or because the other side says it is so. Your primary obligation as a journalist is to seek the truth and report it.” 

Read the full text of her remarks, Seeking Truth in an Age of Lies.”

Congratulations to all our winners and graduates in the Class of 2023!