Awards and Scholarships

EXTENDED DEADLINE for all applications: Friday, APRIL 3, 2020, 3 p.m.

Apply via email to

Download descriptions and applications below.

The Donald and Jewell Friedman Award

The Donald and Jewell Friedman Award is named for two journalists with a long association to the University. After their journalism careers, Don Friedman served as UConn’s News Coordinator, while Jewell Friedman was named the university’s legislative liaison. The prize is for outstanding published stories by a University of Connecticut undergraduate. Awards totaling $2000. Two recipients. (Download application here)

Barbara K. Hill Journalism Award

The Barbara Hill Journalism Award for Academic Excellence honors Barbara Hill, who graduated from the University of Connecticut in 1951. Rather than end her connection to the school at graduation, it was the beginning of a life-long relationship to the university and its students. The award is given annually to a junior journalism major for distinguished academic achievement based on that individual’s grade-point average and rigor of academic program. Award totaling $300. One recipient.

The Charles Litsky Memorial Scholarship

The scholarship honors the memory of Charles Litsky, a well-known BMX racer, announcer and promoter of the sport. He was admired for his racing and announcing skills, as well as his passion for biking and zest for living. He died of a heart attack in 1993 at age 33, just minutes after winning a race. The scholarship was established by his father Frank Litsky, a University of Connecticut alumnus, former sports editor and editor for The New York Times. The award goes to a full-time journalism student based on academic achievement and the rigor of academic program. Also considered are financial need and meaningful engagement beyond academics. Scholarships totaling $10,000. Five recipients. (Download application here)

The Sheehan Family Journalism Scholarship

The Sheehan Family Journalism Scholarship honors David M. Sheehan, a UConn graduate and veteran radio and TV sportscaster who died in 2002. It was established by his brother Patrick Sheehan, also a UConn graduate and television news anchor in Connecticut from 1974 to 1999. The scholarship is awarded to a returning journalism major who has demonstrated outstanding academic achievement. Scholarship totaling $2000. One recipient. (Download application here)

The Dave Solomon Scholarship

The Dave Solomon Scholarship honors the former Daily Campus editor, a longtime Connecticut sports writer and columnist who died in a car accident in 2011. The scholarship is supported by his family, friends and colleagues to encourage future journalists. Any returning journalism major is eligible to apply, and selection is based on financial need and academic achievement. Scholarships totaling $1000. Two recipients. (Download application here)

The Michael J. Whalen Journalism Award

The award is named for Michael J. Whalen, a veteran journalist who died in 1979 at the age of 36 in an automobile accident, just a few days after he was named assistant metropolitan editor at the Hartford Courant. His colleagues created the award to honor Whalen, who is remembered for his powerful prose, collegial manner, impassioned fervor for the news and wise mentoring of aspiring reporters. It is awarded to a junior or senior who has demonstrated excellence in journalism. Award totaling $500. One recipient. (Download application here)

John Breen Scholarship

The John Breen Scholarship honors the longtime journalism department faculty member who retired in 2003 and died in 2014. The award is given to a journalism major based on academic achievement and financial need. Award totaling $200. (Download application here)