Professional Advisory Committee

The purpose of the UConn Journalism Professional Advisory Committee (PAC) is to advise the department head and faculty of trends in journalism practice regionally and nationally and to help ensure that the UConn Journalism program is responsive to the needs of the profession. The PAC works to broaden and strengthen the relationships between UConn Journalism and the public, private and non-profit sectors of journalism practice to enhance our reputation and visibility.

PAC members also help to assess our student learning outcomes. This assessment involves evaluating the portfolios of recent graduates and providing brief written feedback on the quality of student journalism work. In addition, PAC members assist in supporting external relations programs that sustain and enrich UConn Journalism alumni, including providing information for our national accrediting body (ACEJMC). 

UConn Journalism PAC Members, 2024-25

Eric Aasen - Executive Editor, Connecticut Public

Alissa Ambrose — Director of Photography and Multimedia, STAT

Rhema Thompson Bland* — Deputy Director of News Talent Acquisition & Development, McClatchy

Steve Buckheit* – Features Producer, ESPN

Amy Desson — Executive Producer, WFSB-TV Channel 3 Eyewitness News

Michael Fountain — Media Producer, former senior executive producer at ESPN

Patricia Gray* — Web consultant/editor. Former senior editor of Fortune, former editor at Wall Street Journal

Elizabeth Hamilton* — Executive Editor, The Connecticut Mirror

Izaskun “Sassy” Larrañeta — Executive Editor, The Day

Megan Merrigan* — Director of Innovation and Growth, Grist

Purbita Saha* — Science journalist, former Senior Deputy Editor at Popular Science

Charlie Smart* — Graphics/Multimedia Editor, The New York Times

Glenn Smith* — Watchdog/Public Service Editor, The Post & Courier

Jenn Suozzo* — Former Executive Producer of 'NBC Nightly News with Lester Holt'

Helen Ubinas – Columnist at The Philadelphia Inquirer; founder of The Ñ Fund for Latinas in Journalism

David Ushery* – News anchor of the 4 and 11 p.m. newscasts, WNBC News 4 New York

Lynne Delucia – Retired Editor in Chief, Connecticut Health Investigative Team

Claude Albert* – Retired Editor in Chief, The Connecticut Mirror, and former managing editor, The Hartford Courant


*UConn alumni